• Home

PEN/Barbey Freedom to Write Award

The PEN/Barbey Freedom to Write Award is a powerful tool in PEN America’s year-round efforts to end the persecution of writers and defend free expression. Established in 2016, this award is designed to honor a writer imprisoned for his or her work.

(From 1987–2015, the PEN/Barbara Goldsmith Freedom to Write Award honored individual writers fighting for the right to free expression.)

We are grateful to the PEN/Barbey Freedom to Write Award Advisory Committee for dedicating their time and expertise to assisting PEN America in selecting a deserving recipient:

Carroll Bogert 
Joanne Leedom-Ackerman
Joel Simon

Help us defend the freedom to write

Book bans. Censorship. Writers arrested. This Giving Tuesday, help PEN America fight back.