The Vasyl Stus Freedom to Write Award recognizes a writer persecuted for the peaceful expression of his or her views and whose courage in the face of censorship and oppression is exemplary. The award is named in honor of Vasyl Stus, a leading Ukrainian poet of his generation. Previous winners of the award include Recep Marasli, Ferida Durakovic, and Philip and Daniel Berrigan.

This award is currently on hiatus.