*2000  Donna Gershten for Kissing the Virgin’s Mouth (HarperCollins)

*2002  Gayle Brandeis for The Book of Dead Birds (HarperCollins)

*2004  Marjorie Kowalski Cole for Correcting the Landscape (HarperCollins)

*2006  Hillary Jordan for Mudbound (Algonquin Books)

*2008  Heidi W. Durrow for The Girl Who Fell From the Sky (Algonquin Books)

*2010  Naomi Benaron for Running the Rift (Algonquin Books)

(*Prior to 2012, the Bellwether Prize was adminstered independently from the PEN Literary Awards.)

2012  Susan Nussbaum for Good Kings Bad Kings (Algonquin Books)

2014  Ron Childress for And West Is West (Algonquin Books)

2016  Lisa Ko for The Leavers (Algonquin Books)