Tuesday, May 22, 6:30pm
American Museum of Natural History
Central Park West at 79th Street, New York City

Watch videos and read transcripts from the night of the 2018 PEN America Literary Gala:

Welcome Remarks
Jennifer Egan, President, PEN America

Presentation of the 2018 Literary Service Award
Introduction by Morgan Freeman, remarks by Stephen King

Presentation of the 2018 PEN/Barbey Freedom to Write Award
Introduction and letter read by Margaret Atwood, award accepted by Chit Su Win, Kyaw Soe Oo’s wife, and Thura Aung, Wa Lone’s brother

Remarks from 2012 Freedom to Write Award Recipient Eskinder Nega
Introduction by Jennifer Egan, remarks by Eskinder Nega

Presentation of the 2018 PEN America Publisher Honoree
Introduction by Jon Karp, remarks by Carolyn Reidy

Director’s Remarks
Suzanne Nossel, Chief Executive Officer, PEN America

Presentation of the 2018 Courage Award
Remarks by Cameron Kasky, Samantha Fuentes, and Zion Kelly

Call to Action: Free Wa Lone and Kyaw Soe Oo
Margaret Atwood


2018 PEN America Literary Gala—Reception, Program, Dessert

2018 PEN America Literary Gala—Red Carpet

We would like to thank all our donors for their generous support.


Markus Dohle, Roxanne Donovan, Sean Kelly

Honorary Chair
Toni K. Goodale

Joanna Coles, Aidan Donnelley Rowley, Jeanmarie Fenrich, Patricia Fili-Krushel, Sheree Friedman, Kelly Posner Gerstenhaber, Nan Graham, Judith Greenberg, Elizabeth Hemmerdinger, Zachary Karabell, Jonathan Karp, Kathy Kaye & Jonathan Herman, Sandra Leong, Margaret Munzer Loeb, Alexandra Munroe, Edward Tyler Nahem, Deborah Needleman, Nancy Novogrod, Holly Peterson, Michael Pietsch, Theresa Rebeck, Laura Baudo Sillerman, Suzy Wahba, Victoria Ward