PEN America Literary Awards PEN/Nabokov Award for Achievement in International Literature

Founded in 2016 in collaboration with the Nabokov Foundation, the award is conferred annually to a living author whose body of work, either written in or translated into English, represents the highest level of achievement in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and/or drama, and is of enduring originality and consummate craftsmanship. Previous winners include Edna O’Brien and Adonis.


Sandra Cisneros

Sandra Cisneros, 2019 Honoree

Judges: Alexander Chee, Edwidge Danticat, Valeria Luiselli

From the judges’ citation: “Sandra Cisneros has said that she writes because ‘the world we live in is a house on fire and the people we love are burning.’ In a formidable and awe-inspiring body of work, which includes fiction, memoir, and poetry, Cisneros brings us astounding and lyrical voices from burning, maligned, devastated, as well as reassembled houses, and nations. It’s hard to imagine navigating our world today without her stories and her voice guiding us towards needed much reclamation and endurance.”

Sandra Cisnero’s work includes The House on Mango StreetCarameloA House of My OwnWoman Hollering Creek, and more.





Featured Works

House On Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros


Caramelo by Sandra Cisneros

House Of My Own by Sandra Cisneros

Woman Hollering Creek by Sandra Cisneros




Selection Process

The winner is selected by a panel of judges. There are no outside nominations.

Get the Free Speech News You Need

protesters in face masks carrying old Belarusian national flags

PEN America has a new weekly newsletter, PEN Points, bringing you a digest of the biggest free expression news of the week, plus the analysis and insights you trust from PEN America experts.