PEN’s Free Expression Digest brings you a daily curated round-up of the most important free expression-related stories from around the web. Please send your feedback and suggestions to

Malaysia upholds Film Censorship Act
Lena Hendry, a staff member of the human rights group Pusat KOMAS, challenged the constitutionality of the Act after she was charged for organizing a private screening of the award-winning documentary, “No Fire Zone: The Killing Fields of Sri Lanka.” If convicted, she faces up to three years in prison and a fine of up to US$7,000. ASTRO AWANI

Under pressure from Germany, Facebook launches hate-speech taskforce
What Facebook did not say was how it would change the way it currently handles statements that incite hatred against segments of the population in Germany, where they are illegal and not protected as they are in the US. ZD NET

Turkish prosecutor launches new probe into media group for ‘terror propaganda’
Turkish prosecutors are investigating the Dogan Media Group, which owns the independent Hurriyet daily and CNN Turk channel among others, over its coverage of the fighting between government forces and Kurdish militants. FRANCE 24

Egyptian journalist released after 11 hours in detention without charge
Haitham Radwan of Al-Shorouk newspaper said that he was randomly arrested along with nine others, and only three of them were released. DAILY NEWS EGYPT

32 countries criticize Bahrain’s human rights record at UNHCR
“We are concerned about reports of harassment and imprisonment of persons exercising their rights to freedom of opinion and expression and of peaceful assembly and association,” read the letter, signed by 32 countries including the United States and Britain. REUTERS

Committee to Protect Journalists Announces 2015 Press Freedom Awards
Honorees include Cándido Figueredo Ruíz (Paraguay), Syrian citizen-journalist collective ‘Raqqa is Being Slaughtered Silently,’ Ethiopia’s Zone 9 Bloggers, and Malaysian cartoonist Zunar. COMMITTEE TO PROTECT JOURNALISTS

Man Booker Prize Announces Shortlist
The shortlisted authors include Marlon James (Jamaica), Tom McCarthy (UK), Chigozie Obioma (Nigeria), Sunjeev Sahota (UK), Anne Tyler (US), and Hanya Yanagihara (US).