May 16, 2016
American Museum of Natural History, New York City

Welcome Remarks
Andrew Solomon, PEN President

Welcome from 2016 Publisher Honoree
Michael Pietsch, CEO, Hachette Book Group

Presentation of the 2016 PEN/Toni and James C. Goodale Freedom of Expression Courage Award
Dr. Mona Hanna-Attisha and Lee-Anne Walters, Recipients

Presentation of the 2016 PEN/Allen Foundation Literary Service Award to J.K. Rowling
Introduction by Sarah Jessica Parker and remarks by J.K. Rowling

Director’s Remarks
Suzanne Nossel, PEN Executive Director

Presentation of the PEN/Barbey Freedom to Write Award to Ahmed Naji
Mohamed Naji, Brother of Ahmed Naji