(This award was formerly names the PEN/Robert Bingham Fellowship for Writers.)

2002  Manil Suri, The Death of Vishnu (W.W. Norton)
         Carolyn Cooke, The Bostons (Mariner)
         Matthew Klam, Sam the Cat and other stories (Vintage)

2004  Jonathan Safran Foer, Everything is Illuminated (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
         Will Heinrich, The King’s Evil (Scribner)
         Monique Truong, The Book of Salt (Mariner Books)

2006  Christopher Coake, We’re In Trouble (Harcourt)

Tom Bissell, God Lives in St. Petersburg: And Other Stories (Pantheon)
Richard McCann, Mother of Sorrows (Vintage)

2007  Janna Levin, A Madman Dreams of Turing Machines (Knopf)

Runners up:
Tony D’Souza, Whiteman (Harcourt)
Katherine Min, Secondhand World (Knopf)

2008  Dalia Sofer, The Septembers of Shiraz (Ecco)

Joshua Ferris, Then We Come to an End (Little, Brown & Co.)
Alex Mindt, The Male of the Species (Delphinium)

2009  Donald Ray Pollock, Knockemstiff (Doubleday)

Rivka Galchen, Atmospheric Disturbances (Farrar, Straus, and Giroux)
Aravind Adiga, The White Tiger (Free Press)

2010  Paul Harding, Tinkers (Bellevue Literary Press)

Terrence Holt, In the Valley of the Kings (W.W. Norton & Co.)
Dahlma Llanos-Figueroa, Daughters of the Stone (Thomas Dunne Books)

2011  Susanna Daniel, Stiltsville (Harper)
         Danielle Evans, Before You Suffocate your Own Fool Self (Riverhead Trade)

Runner-Up: Teddy Wayne, Kapitoil (Harper Perennial)

2012  Vanessa Veselka, Zazen (Red Lemonade)

Ben Lerner, Leaving the Atocha Station (Coffee House Press)

2013  Sergio De La Pava, A Naked Singularity (University of Chicago Press)

2014  Shawn Vestal, Godforsaken Idaho (Little A/New Harvest)

2015  Jack Livings, The Dog (Farrar, Straus, and Giroux)

2016  Mia Alvar, In The Country: Stories (Alfred A. Knopf)

2017 Rion Amilcar Scott, Insurrections, (University of Kentucky Press)

2018 Jenny Zhang, Sour Heart, (Lenny)