(This award is offered every other year, in odd-numbered years.)

1993  Peter Stitt, Gettysburg Review

1995  Herbert Leibowitz, Parnassus

1997  Wendy Lesser, The Threepenny Review

1999  Stan Lindberg, Georgia Review

2001  Askold Melnyczuk, AGNI

2003  Robert Fogarty, Antioch Review

2005  Willard Spiegelman, Southwest Review

2007  Bradford Morrow,Conjunctions

2009  Hannah Tinti, One Story

2011  Brigid Hughes, A Public Space

2013  Monika Bauerlein and Clara Jeffery, Mother Jones

2015  Rob Spillman, Tin House

2017 Michael Archer & Joel Whitney, Guernica