Tuesday, May 21, 6:30pm
American Museum of Natural History
Central Park West at 79th Street, New York City

Watch videos and read transcripts from the night of the 2019 PEN America Literary Gala:

Jennifer Egan and Suzanne Nossel

Presentation of the 2019 PEN America Publisher Honoree
Introduction by Alec Baldwin, remarks by Richard Robinson

Presentation of the 2019 PEN/Barbey Freedom to Write Award
Remarks by Lina and Walid Al-Hathloul

Presentation of the 2019 Literary Service Award
Introduction by Robert Caro, remarks by Bob Woodward

Presentation of the 2019 Courage Award
Introduction by Lupita Nyong’o, remarks by Anita Hill

See photos from the 2019 Literary Gala:

2019 Gala - Program Selects

We would like to thank all our donors for their generous support.

2019 Gala Committee

Markus Dohle • Roxanne Donovan • Sean Kelly

Honorary Hosts
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Sarah Jessica Parker and Matthew Broderick

Whitney Arcaro • Amanda Bennett • Jennifer Finney Boylan • Kimberly Morgan Blank • Joanna Coles • Patricia Duff • Jeanmarie Fenrich • Patricia Fili-Krushel • Sheree and Jerry Friedman • Judith Greenberg • Tom Healy and Fred P. Hochberg • Elizabeth Hemmerdinger • Zachary Karabell • Margaret Munzer Loeb • Susie Lopez • Jay McInerney • Alexandra Munroe • Deborah Needleman • Evgenia Peretz • Michael Pietsch • Richard Plepler • Theresa Rebeck • Alix L.L. Ritchie • Aidan Donnelley Rowley • Anya Salama • Andrew Solomon • Katrina vanden Heuvel • Suzy Wahba • Vicky Ward and Richard Cohen • Hanya Yanagihara

Toni K. Goodale, Honorary Chair