• Home

Announcing the 2018 PEN/Hemingway Award Finalists

PEN America and the esteemed judges Chris Castellani, Geraldine Brooks, and Elizabeth Strout are thrilled to announce the 2018 PEN/Hemingway Award finalists. The winners will be announced on April 2, 2018, and will be celebrated at the 2018 PEN/Hemingway Awards Ceremony on April 8 at the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum in Boston, MA. Author and host of NPR’s Weekend Edition Saturday Scott Simon will deliver the keynote address. The Kennedy Library is the major repository of Ernest Hemingway’s personal papers. 

The ceremony is free and open to the public. RSVP to attend today. Attend the ceremony »

2018 PEN/Hemingway Award for Debut Fiction

A $25,000 prize for a debut novel or book of short stories published in 2017 by an American author who has not previously published a full-length book of fiction. All competition honorees receive Residency Fellowships at the Ucross Foundation in Wyoming, a retreat for artists and writers. The award is funded by the Hemingway family, Hemingway Foundation and Society, and PEN America.

Judges: Chris Castellani, Geraldine Brooks, Elizabeth Strout


Live from Cairo, Ian Bassingthwaighte (Scribner, Simon and Schuster)
IndieBound | Amazon




The Graybar Hotel, Curtis Dawkins (Scribner, Simon and Schuster)
IndieBound | Amazon




The Leavers, Lisa Ko (Algonquin Books)
IndieBound | Amazon




Indelible, Adelia Saunders (Bloomsbury)
IndieBound | Amazon




Chemistry, Weike Wang (Knopf)
IndieBound | Amazon