The PEN/Jean Stein Grant for Literary Oral History recognizes a literary work of nonfiction that uses oral history to illuminate an event, individual, place, or movement. The winner will receive a $10,000 grant to help maintain or complete his or her ongoing project and will be honored at the annual PEN Literary Awards Ceremony in New York City. 


The winner will be announced on February 22, 2017 and honored at the 2017 PEN America Literary Awards Ceremony on March 27, 2017.


Gaiutra Bahadur
is the author of the Orwell Prize-shortlisted Coolie Woman, a narrative history. Her essays, reviews and reporting have appeared in Lapham’s Quarterly, The Guardian, The New York Times Book Review, VQR, The Nation, Dissent, Ms., and Foreign Policy. The Commonwealth Writers Foundation recently published her fiction debut, the story “The Stained Veil.” She has received fellowships from the MacDowell Colony, Harvard’s Nieman Foundation, the NJ Council on the Arts and Harvard’s DuBois Institute, where she’s currently in residence.

Helen Epstein is a journalist and author of ten books of nonfiction, including Children of the Holocaust; the biography Joe Papp: An American Life; and Where She Came From: A Daughter’s Search for Her Mother’s History.  In 2016, she co-wrote Dr. Paul Ornstein’s Looking Back: Memoir of a Psychoanalyst. She co-founded Plunkett Lake Press to reissue international classics of non-fiction in electronic form. She lives in Massachusetts.

Dan Kennedy is the host of The Moth Podcast, as well as a frequent host and performer at Moth live events. His stories have appeared in GQ Magazine, on the Peabody Award-winning The Moth Radio Hour, in McSweeney’s, and in numerous print anthologies. He is the author of three books, Loser Goes First (Random House/Crown 2003), Rock On (Algonquin 2008, a Times of London Book of The Year) and American Spirit (Houghton Mifflin/Little-A 2013, Publishers Weekly starred review). He lives in downtown New York.


Click here for additional information, including submission guidelines, for the award.