Russell Banks

Russell Banks was born in Massachusetts in 1940.

He is the author of 17 works of fiction, including the novels Continental Drift, Rule of the Bone, Cloudsplitter, and, most recently, Lost Memory of Skin, as well as five short-story collections.

Two of his novels, The Sweet Hereafter and Affliction, have been made into award-winning motion pictures, and three others are currently in development.

Banks is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters and is past President of the International Parliament of Writers, as well as the founding President of the Cities of Refuge North America.

He is the Howard G. B. Clarke University Professor of Humanities, Emeritus, at Princeton and served as New York State Author from 2004-2008.

Russell Banks was a participant in the 2006 World Voices Festival.

Get the Free Speech News You Need

protesters in face masks carrying old Belarusian national flags

PEN America has a new weekly newsletter, PEN Points, bringing you a digest of the biggest free expression news of the week, plus the analysis and insights you trust from PEN America experts.