2023 Gala Hero Image (2)

6:00 PM: VIP Reception | 6:30 PM: Cocktail Reception | 7:30 PM: Awards and Dinner | 9:30 PM: Afterparty and Dessert

The annual PEN America Literary Gala is a highlight of the New York literary and social calendars, with over 700 guests and an exceptional group of leading writers who sit among them as Literary Hosts. Every year, it is an inspiring, exhilarating, moving event; as we honor those who embody PEN America’s mission to celebrate, champion and defend freedom of expression. The proceeds from this dinner are crucial to PEN America’s dynamic cultural programming and critical advocacy work.

2023 Honorees

PEN/Audible Literary Service Award

Lorne Michaels

Creator, writer and executive producer, Saturday Night Live

Business Visionary Award

Ted Sarandos

Netflix Co-Chief Executive Officer

Gala Committee Co-Chairs
Colette Bennett • Markus Dohle • Sean Kelly • Anya Salama

Gala Committee Members
Pamela and Peter Barbey • Lawrence B. and Elyse Benenson • Kimberly Morgan Blank
Deirdre Finney Boylan and Jennifer Finney Boylan • Binta Niambi Brown • John Chao •
Bridget Colman
Jennifer Copaken and Todd Yellin • Roxanne Donovan • Patricia Duff •
Sheree and Jerry Friedman
Henry Louis Gates, Jr. •
Ashley Garrett and Alan Jones • Tom Healy and Fred P. Hochberg
Elizabeth Hemmerdinger •
Beth Hutchens • Zachary Karabell • Sandra Leong
Yvonne Marsh • Jay McInerney •
Michael Pietsch • Alix L.L. Ritchie • Andrew Solomon

Gold Sponsors
Netflix • Penguin Random House

Award Underwriters
Audible • Edwin Barbey Charitable Trust • Lawrence B. and Elyse Benenson

Anonymous • Barnes & Noble Booksellers • Roxanne Donovan and Tom Scarangello
Elizabeth Hemmerdinger and Alix L.L. Ritchie • Anya and Albert Salama
Simon & Schuster, Inc. • Andrew Solomon and John Habich Solomon

Arnold & Porter • Colette and Daniel Bennett • Kimberly Morgan Blank • Deirdre Finney Boylan and Jennifer Finney Boylan
Bridget Colman • Karin and Markus Dohle • Patricia Duff & Richard D. Cohen FoundRae
Sheree and Jerry Friedman • Ashley Garrett and Alan Jones • Hachette Book Group • Tom Healy and Fred P. Hochberg
Zachary Karabell • Mary and Sean Kelly & Family • Sandra Leong • Anne and Jay McInerney
Richard Plepler and EDEN Productions • Ting Tsung & Wei Fong Chao Foundation • Suzy and Sadek Wahba

(in formation)

Watch the 2022 PEN America Literary Gala

Photo Highlights