Johannes Goransson for his translation from the Finland-Swedish of The Collected Poems of Henry Parland

Victoria Haggblom for her translation from the Swedish of To Mervas, a novel by Elizabeth Rynell

Nicky Harman for her translation from the Chinese of Striking Root, a novel by Han Dong

Ann L. Huss for her translation from the Chinese of Beauty, a novel by Ge Fei

Sawako Nakayasu for her translation from the Japanese of For the Fighting Spirit of the Walnut, poems by Takashi Hiraide

Tegan Raleigh for her translation from the French of The Tongue’s Blood Does Not Run Dry, a novel by Assia Djebar

Constantine Rusanov for his translation from the Lithuanian of The Junction, poems by Tomas Venclova

Stepan S. Simek for his translation from the Czech of Theremin and Three Sisters 2002.CZ, plays by Petr Zelenka

Alan Trei and Inna Feldbach for their translation from the Estonian of Robber’s Rise (Book One of The Truth and Justice Trilogy), a novel by Anton Hansen Tammsaare

The PEN Translation Fund Grants support the translation of booklength works of fiction, creative nonfiction, poetry, or drama that have not previously appeared in English or have appeared only in an outdated or otherwise flawed translation. Proposals for PEN Translation Fund Grants are judged by a jury of prominent translators, writers, and editors on the basis of two evenly weighted criteria: 1) the quality of the original work, 2) the quality of the translation. In cases of equal merit, priority will be given to underrepresented languages and authors and to works previously untranslated. The amount of the award will vary from $2,000 to $10,000 depending on the nature and length of the project and the number of proposals deemed worthy of support during a given year.

2006 Judges

Esther Allen, Sarah Bershtel, Barbara Epler, Michael Henry Heim, Michael Moore, Richard Sieburth, and Eliot Weinberger