PEN American Center has announced the 2010 winners of the PEN Literary Awards.

Each year, PEN confers over $100,000 to writers, editors, and translators. The winners and runners-up will be honored Oct. 13, at the CUNY Graduate Center in New York City.

This year, PEN introduced three new prizes: the PEN/W.G. Sebald Award for a Fiction Writer in Mid-Career, which went to Susan Choi; the PEN/ESPN Award for Literary Sports Writing, which Marshall Jon Fisher received for his book “A Terrible Splendor”; and the PEN/Edward and Lily Tuck Award for Paraguayan Literature, which went to Esteban Bedoya for “El apocalipsis según Benedicto.”

The 2010 PEN/Saul Bellow Award for Achievement in American Fiction went to Don DeLillo. Look for a new Q & A with the man who gave us “White Noise” (oh, yes) and “Great Jones Street” (well…) at

David Mamet picks up the PEN/Laura Pels Foundation Award for a Master American Dramatist. The PEN/Voelcker Award for Poetry went to Marilyn Hacker.

PEN awards two fellowships each year. The PEN/Robert Bingham Fellowship, which provides $35,000 to a debut author of great promise, went to Paul Harding, the author of the the Pulitzer Prize-winning “Tinkers.”

The PEN/Phyllis Naylor Working Writer Fellowship, which goes to a children’s book author with a work in progress, was awarded to Pat Schmatz.

The PEN Open Book Awards, which each year honor books by writers of color, went to Sherwin Bitsui for “Flood Song,” Robin D.G. Kelley for “Thelonious Monk,” and Canyon Sam for “Sky Train.”

A complete list of the winners and runners-up can be found