In an era of economic uncertainty and consolidation, even the short story could use a little additional support: the Anchor Books imprint of Random House said that it had partnered with the literary and human rights organization the PEN American Center and that it would rename its annual “O. Henry Prize Stories” collection the “PEN/O. Henry Prize Stories.” In a news release, Anchor Books said the new name would take effect with the 2009 story collection, which is edited by Laura Furman and features selections juried by A. S. Byatt, Tim O’Brien and Anthony Doerr.  It will be published on May 5. The first collection of O. Henry Prize stories was published in 1919.