Among recipients of 2010 PEN Literary Awards are playwrights David Mamet and Theresa Rebeck, PEN American Center announced.

PEN has awarded 14 prizes to writers at work in a variety of genres. From fiction and drama to translation, biography, and poetry, “the works of this year’s award recipients often find man in a world of madness and violence, seeking salvation across physical, spiritual, and linguistic borders,” according to PEN.

Pulitzer Prize winner Mamet, currently represented on Broadway with A Life in the Theatre, received the 2010 PEN/Laura Pels Foundation Award for a Master American Dramatist. His plays include American Buffalo, Glengarry Glen Ross and Speed-the-Plow.

Rebeck, whose plays include The Scene, The Understudy and Mauritius, received the 2010 PEN/Laura Pels Foundation Award for an American Playwright in Mid-Career.

PEN American Center is the U.S. branch of the world’s oldest international literary and human rights organization. International PEN was founded in 1921 in direct response to the ethnic and national divisions that contributed to the First World War. PEN American Center was founded in 1922 and is the largest of the 144 PEN centers in 101 countries that together compose International PEN.

Visit for more information.