James Carroll, author of House of War (Houghton Mifflin), accepts the PEN/John Kenneth Galbraith Award at the 2007 Literary Awards Ceremony. Finalists for the biennial award, which is given to a distinguished book of general nonfiction possessing notable literary merit and critical perspective and illuminating important contemporary issues which has been published in the United States during the previous two calendar years, included Gene Roberts & Hank Klibanoff for The Race Beat: The Press, the Civil Rights Struggle, and the Awakening of a Nation (Knopf) and Thomas E. Ricks for Fiasco: The American Military Adventure in Iraq (The Penguin Press).