Since 1963, PEN America has honored exceptional literary work across literary genres. Today, our awards highlight achievement in poetry, fiction, nonfiction, science writing, sports writing, essays, biography, children’s literature, and drama. They honor everyone from emerging writers to luminaries in their field. To view a complete list of winning titles and honorees, search by year or award below. 


Search by Award


PEN/Jean Stein Book Award 

PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize for Debut Fiction

PEN/Nabokov Award for Achievement in International Literature

PEN/Saul Bellow Award for Achievement in American Fiction

PEN/Bellwether Prize for Socially Engaged Fiction, Founded by Barbara Kingsolver

PEN/Laura Pels International Foundation for Theater Awards: For Master American Playwright, Playwright in Mid-Career, and Emerging Playwright

PEN/Diamonstein-Spielvogel Award for the Art of the Essay 

PEN/John Kenneth Galbraith Award for Nonfiction

PEN/E. O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award

PEN/Jean Stein Grant for Literary Oral History

PEN Open Book Award [formerly the PEN Beyond Margins Award]

PEN/Joyce Osterweil Award for Poetry

PEN/Voelcker Award for Poetry

PEN/Jacqueline Bograd Weld Award for Biography

PEN/Edward and Lily Tuck Award for Paraguayan Literature

PEN/ESPN Award for Literary Sports Writing

PEN/ESPN Lifetime Achievement Award For Literary Sports Writing

PEN/Ralph Manheim Medal for Translation

PEN Translation Prize

PEN Award for Poetry in Translation

PEN/Edward and Lily Tuck Award for Paraguayan Literature

PEN/Heim Translation Fund Grants 

PEN Grant for the English Translation of Italian Literature

PEN/Nora Magid Award for Magazine Editing

PEN/Phyllis Naylor Working Writer Fellowship 

PEN/Robert J. Dau Short Story Prize for Emerging Writers 


Discontinued Awards

PEN/FUSION Emerging Writers Prize

PEN/Amazon.com Short Story Award

PEN/Architectural Digest Award for Literary Writing on the Visual Arts

PEN/Bruno Schulz Prize

PEN Emerging Writers Awards

PEN/Gregory Kolovakos Award for Expansion of Hispanic Literature to an English-Language Audience

PEN/Jerard Fund Award

PEN/Martha Albrand Award for the Art of the Memoir

PEN/Martha Albrand Award for First Nonfiction

PEN/Nabokov Award for Fiction

PEN/Renato Poggioli Translation Award

PEN/Roger Klein Award for Career Achievement

PEN/Roger Klein Award for Editing

PEN/Steven Kroll Award Honoring the Author of an Illustrated Children’s Book

PEN/W. G. Sebald Award for a Fiction Writer in Mid-Career